New city record label Weird On Purpose announces first release

Arc Vel, Faux Palms, Health and Efficiency and Sunshine Frisbee Laserbeam are among Birmingham acts set to feature on the first release from a new city record label.

Weird On Purpose, founded by the team behind music promotion company This Is Tmrw, has produced a 12-track CD compilation.

Weird On Purpose 1 tracklisting

1) YR Poetry – I Caught A Fly

2) Repeat Of Last Week – Proud

3) Sunshine Frisbee Laserbeam – Everybody Sucks

4) Terror Watts – Breakfast In Bed

5) Table Scraps – Always Right

6) False Grails – Broken Lock

7) Bank Accounts – I Don’t Know

8) Faux Palms – Momentum

9) Venkman – Tap Out

10) Hoopla Blue – Rotten Sodden Loot

11) Health and Efficiency – Time

12) Arc Vel – Palace

The release features bespoke album artwork from popular artist and designer Lewes Herriot.

A spokesperson for the label said, “Having spoken about releasing via This Is Tmrw for many years, Weird On Purpose came about through a discussion with Sunshine Frisbee Laserbeam‘s Pete Dixon, who like us had been keen to put out a compilation showcasing the wealth of great bands and artists in the city for sometime.

We’re hoping through the release we can help provide some exposure for Birmingham acts, both locally and nationally, which we believe is long overdue. All being well we’d like to look to develop Weird On Purpose into an annual collectable compilation series that continues to showcase Birmingham’s ever growing musical talents.”

Weird On Purpose 1 receives its official launch at the city’s Stryx Gallery on Saturday 16 April.

A ticket, CD and t-shirt bundle is available to pre-order now via the label’s official Bandcamp page.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here