Editors unveil sixth album

Violence incoming + Brum gig announced


Editors have announced details of their forthcoming new album, entitled Violence.

Violence is the former Brum-based band’s sixth album, and follows 2015’s top 5 In Dream. It is produced by Leo Abrahams (Wild Beasts, Florence & The Machine, Frightened Rabbit) and Editors with additional production from Benjamin John Power (Blanck Mass, F*** Buttons) and mixed by Cenzo Townshend, except Hallelujah (So Low) mixed by Alan Moulder.

The first track to be unveiled from the collection is Magazine, with a video shot in Amsterdam by renowned photographer, director and long-term Editors collaborator Rahi Rezvani. Magazine is the band’s first single in three years.

Editors frontman Tom Smith says: ‘‘Magazine is a pointed finger aimed at those in power… some corrupt politician or businessman… a character, and a tongue in cheek poke at the empty posturing and playing to the masses of the power hungry.”

Violence tracklisting:
1. Cold
2. Hallelujah (So Low)
3. Violence
4. Darkness At The Door
5. Nothingness
6. Magazine
7. No Sound But the Wind
8. Counting Spooks
9. Belong

Violence is released on 9 March 2018 via Play It Again Sam on the following formats:

  • Standard CD
  • Ltd edition deluxe CD featuring two bonus tracks, housed inside a rigid box, which also contains 2 fridge magnets, 12 inserts and a fold out poster
  • Standard LP, pressed on 180g vinyl including download code
  • Ltd edition deluxe LP, pressed on 180g red vinyl and containing a download code including two bonus tracks. The vinyl sits inside a triple gatefold sleeve, containing 12 inserts

To mark the release of the album, the band play an ‘intimate’ show at Birmingham Town Hall on Sunday 4 March 2018.

For tickets, see: www.thsh.co.uk



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here